BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING CARE INSTITUTION ADMINISTRATORS AND
ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY MANAGERS

1740 W Adams Suit 2490 Phoenix, Arizona

. 85007 (602)364-2374 phone
Katie Hobbs Email: information@aznciaboard.us Website: Jack Confer

Governor www.nciaboard.az.gov Executive Director

This email is being sent per your request for how to start the Manager’s Certificate
application.

Go to www.aznciaboard.us (DO NOT USE A MOBILE PHONE OR A TABLET) and
choose e-licensing (elicense.az.gov)

Click on open your account, click on the correct choice:
a. lhavea license
b. Tdon’t have a license

You must sign into the licensing portal, fill out the application, and upload the required
documents. This information is attached. Any required information that is not provided
will delay the application process.

. We do not provide a paper application and the certificate can only be completed in the e-
licensing format.

6. Board staff cannot interpret the application rules for you.

Due to the current software constraints, we are not able to view heic to jpg downloads or any
photos sent.

Have the following items scanned into PDF format and ready to upload into your application:
Passport style photograph

Caregiver and Manager training certificates

Verification of licensing from other licensing agencies (if applicable)
High School diploma or GED

2080 hours of verifiable documentation from health-related work
Character Certification #1

Character Certification #2

Completed Statement of Citizenship Form and Photo 1D

Fingerprint Clearance Card- front and back

10 Current CPR and Basic First Aid training cards

11. 5 years of resident address history
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Character Certification

Applicant:

Last Name First Name Middle
Certifier:

The above-named individual has applied for an Arizona Nursing Care Institution Administrator License
or an Assisted Living Facility Manager Certificate. Use the “Recommendation” section below for
comments pertinent, to the character and suitability of this applicant to practice in the profession. Please
complete ALL areas below and return this certificate to:

Arizona State Board of Examiners of
Nursing Care Institution Administrators and Assisted Living Facility Managers
1740 W Adams, Suite 2490
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Are you related to the applicant? Yes No
Are you the applicant’s employer? Yes No
Is the applicant your employer? Yes No
Number of years acquainted with applicant? Years

(If the answer is “Yes” to any of the above questions, or have knowns the applicant for less than 3 years you do not
qualify as a certifier)

| certify that | am personally acquainted with the applicant named above and believe their moral character
and suitability is appropriate to be an Arizona Nursing Institution Administrator or Assisted Living
Facility Manager.

RECOMMENDATION: (please write why you recommend this person for this license)

Signature of Certifier How acquainted

Printed Name of Certifier Telephone number

Date Signed Street address



ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP
AND ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS

Professional License and Commercial License
Arizona Board of Nursing Care Institution Administrators and Assisted Living Facility Managers

Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the “Act”), 8 U.S.C. §
1621, provides that, with certain exceptions, only United States citizens, United States non-citizen nationals, non-exempt
“qualified aliens” (and sometimes only particular categories of qualified aliens), nonimmigrants, and certain aliens
paroled into the United States are eligible to receive state or local public benefits. With certain exceptions, a professional
license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public benefit.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation
to the licensing agency that satisfactory demonstrates the applicant’s presence in the United States is authorized under
federal law.

o Directions: All applicants must complete Sections 1, I, and IV. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or nationals
must complete Section IlI.

e  Submit this completed form and a copy of one or more document(s) from the attached “Evidence of U.S.
Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status” with your application for license or renewal.

e |If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government issued
document that contains your photograph.

e You must submit supporting legal documents (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is no
the same as your current legal name.

SECTION I - APPLICANT INFORMATION

APPLICANTS NAME (Print or Type) DATE

TYPE OF LICENSE APPLYING FOR:

SECTION II - CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION

A. Are you a citizen or national of the United States []ves []No
B. If Yes, indicate place of birth:

City State (or equivalent) Country or Territory

C. If you answered Yes:
1) Attach a legible copy of a document from the attached list.

Name of document
2) Go to Section IV.

D. If you answered No, you must complete Section Il and 1V
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SECTION III — ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION

Directions: To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States. Please indicate alien
status by checking the appropriate box. Attach a legible copy of the front and back of a document from the attached List B
or other document that evidences your status. A.R.S. § 1-501. Name of document provided:

“Qualified Alien” Status (8 U.S.C. 88 1621(a)(1). -1641(b) and (c))

1. Analien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).

An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.

A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.

An alien paroled into the Unites States for at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.

An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA.

An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.

An alien who is a Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee Education
Assistance Act of 1980).

8. An alien who is, or whose child or child’s parent is a “battered alien” or an alien subject to extreme cruelty in
the United States.

O Odoodod
~No b wN

Nonimmigrant status (8 U.S.C. 8 1621(a)(2))

1 9. A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1101 et seg.] Nonimmigrants are
persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15).

Alien Paroled into the United States for Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C. 8 1621(a)(3))
0 10. Analien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.
Other persons (8 U.S.C. § 1621(c)(2)(A) and (C)

0 11. A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or

I 12. A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association approved in
Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated States include the
Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of Micronesia, 48 U.S.C. § 1901
et seq.];

1 13. A foreign national not physically present in the United States.

Otherwise Lawfully Present (A.R.S. § 1-501)

[0 14. A person not described in categories 1-13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States. PLEASE
NOTE: The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may make persons
who fall into this category ineligible for licensure. See 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)

SECTION IV-DECLARATION

All applicants must compete this section. | declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona that the
answers | have given are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE TODAY’S DATE



ARTICLE 4
ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY MANAGER CERTIFICATION

R4-33-401. Requirements for Initial Certification by Examination
A. Except as provided in subsection (B), an individual who wishes to receive an initial certificate by
examination as an assisted living facility manager shall:
1. Education:
a. Earn a high school diploma or G.E.D, or hold a license in good standing issued under
A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 13, 15 or 17 or Article 2
b. Complete an assisted living facility caregiver training program that is approved by the
Board under Article 7 of this Chapter, and
c. Complete an assisted living facility manager training program that is approved by the
Board under Article 6 of this Chapter.
2. Work experience. Complete at least 2,080 hours of paid work experience in a health-related
field within the five years before application;
3. Examination. Obtain a score of at least 75 percent on the Arizona examination;
4. Training. Complete an adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic first-aid training
program;
5. Fingerprint clearance card. Have a valid fingerprint clearance card issued under A.R.S. Title
41, Chapter 12, Article 3.1; and
6. Submlt all applicable 1nf0rmat10n required under R4-33-403.
B. An individual who holds a license in good standing issued under A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter
13,15, 0r 17 or 4 A.A.C. 33, Article 2 is exempt from the requirements specified in
subsections (A)(1)(b) and (4).

R4-33-402. Requirements for a Temporary Certificate

A. To be eligible for a temporary certificate as an assisted living facility manager, an individual
shall:

1. Meet the requirements under R4-33-401 except for the requirement at R4-33-401(3);

2. Have the owner of an assisted living facility that intends to appoint the applicant as manager
if the applicant is successful in obtaining a temporary certificate submit to the Board a Letter
of Intent to Appoint, on a form that is available from the Board. The owner of the assisted
living facility shall include the following in the Letter of Intent to Appoint:

a. Name of the owner of the assisted living facility;

Name and address of the assisted living facility;

Name of the applicant;

An affirmation of intent to appoint the applicant;

Reason for requesting a temporary certificate for the applicant;

License number of the assisted living facility; and

g. Signature of the owner of the assisted living facility affirming the information provided is
true and complete;

3. Not have held an Arizona temporary certificate as an assisted living facility manager within
the past three years; and

4. Not have failed the Arizona examination before applying for the temporary certificate.

B. Atthe Board’s request, an applicant for a temporary certificate shall appear or be available by
telephone for an interview with the Board.

C. A temporary certificate is valid for 150 days and is not renewable. Before expiration of the
temporary certificate, the temporary certificate holder shall obtain a certificate under A.R.S. § 36-
446.04 and this Article or discontinue as manager of the assisted living facility.

D. If a temporary certificate holder fails the Arizona examination during the term of the temporary
certificate, the temporary certificate is automatically revoked and the former temporary certificate
holder shall discontinue as manager of the assisted living facility.

me o o

R4-33-403. Initial Application
A. An individual who desires to be certified as a manager of an assisted living facility shall submit
the following information to the Board on an application form, which is available from the Board:
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

Full name of the applicant;

Other names that the applicant has used;

Mailing address of the applicant;

Home, work, and mobile telephone numbers of the applicant;

Applicant’s date and place of birth;

Applicant’s Social Security number;

Address of every residence at which the applicant has lived in the last five years;

Education information regarding the applicant, including:

a. Name and location of last high school attended;

b. Date of high school graduation or date on which a G.E.D. was earned; and

c. Name and address of every accredited college or university attended, dates of attendance,
date of graduation, and degree or certificate earned;

Information regarding professional licenses or certifications currently or previously held by

the applicant, including:

Name of issuing agency;

License or certificate number;

Issuing jurisdiction;

Date on which the license or certificate was first issued;

Whether the license or certificate is current; and

Whether the license or certificate is in good standing and if not, an explanation;

Informatlon regarding the applicant’s employment record for the last five years, including:

Name, address, and telephone number of each employer;

Title of position held by the applicant;

Name of applicant’s supervisor;

Dates of employment;

Number of hours worked each week;

Whether the employment was full or part time; and

g. Reason for termination;

Whether the applicant was ever denied a professional license or certificate and if so, the kind

of license or certificate denied; licensing authority making the denial, and date;

Whether the applicant ever voluntarily surrendered a professional license or certificate and if

so, the kind of license or certificate surrendered, licensing authority, date, and reason for the

surrender;

Whether the applicant ever allowed a professional license or certificate to lapse and if so, the

kind of license or certificate that lapsed, licensing authority, date, reason for lapse, and

whether the license or certificate was reinstated;

Whether the applicant ever had a limitation imposed on a professional license or certificate

and if so, the kind of license or certificate limited, licensing authority, date, nature of

limitation, reason for limitation, and whether the limitation was removed;

Whether the applicant ever had a professional license or certificate suspended or revoked and

if so, the kind of license or certificate suspended or revoked, licensing authority, date, and

reason for suspension or revocation;

Whether the applicant ever was subject to disciplinary action with regard to a professional

license or certificate and if so, the kind of license or certificate involved, licensing authority,

date, and reason for and nature of the disciplinary action;

Whether any unresolved complaint against the applicant is pending with a licensing authority,

professional association, health care facility, or assisted living facility and if so, the nature of

and where the complaint is pending;

Whether the applicant ever was charged with or convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor,

other than a minor traffic violation, in any court and if so, the nature of the offense,

jurisdiction, and date of discharge; and

Whether the applicant ever was pardoned from or had the record expunged of a felony

conviction and if so, the nature of the offense, jurisdiction, and date of pardon or expunging.

hoe oo oW
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. In addition to the application form required under subsection (A), an applicant shall submit or
have submitted on the applicant’s behalf:

1.

Education:
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a. Copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or G.E.D., and certificates of completion
issued from the training courses described under R4-33-401(A)(1)(b) and (c); or
b. Copy of the applicant's license issued under A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 13, 15, or 17 or
Article 2, and certificate of completion issued from the training course described under
R4-33-401(A)(1)(c).
2. Documentation of 2,080 hours of paid work experience in a health-related field;
Copy of current certification in adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid;
4. Verification of license that is signed, authenticated by seal or notarization, and submitted
directly to the Board by each agency that ever issued a professional license to the applicant;
5. “Character Certification” form submitted directly to the Board by two individuals who have
known the applicant for at least three years and are not related to, employed by, or employing
the applicant;
6. For every felony or misdemeanor charge listed under subsection (A)(18), a copy of
documents from the appropriate court showing the disposition of each charge;
7. For every felony or misdemeanor conviction listed under subsection (A)(18), a copy of
documents from the appropriate court showing whether the applicant met all judicially
imposed sentencing terms;
Full-faced photograph of the applicant taken within the last six months;
9. Fingerprint clearance card.
a. Photocopy of the front and back of the applicant's fingerprint clearance card,;
b. Proof of submission of an application for a fingerprint clearance card; or
c. If denied a fingerprint clearance card, proof that the applicant qualifies for a good-cause
exception hearing under A.R.S. § 41-619.55;
10. Documentation as described in A.R.S. § 41-1080(A), of U.S. citizenship or alien status
indicating presence in the U.S. is authorized under federal law;
11. Affirm the information provided in the application is true and complete and authorize others
to release information regarding the applicant to the Board; and
12. Fees required under R4-33-104(B)(1) and (B)(2).
If required by the Board under A.R.S. § 36-446.03(D), an applicant shall appear before the Board.
When the information required under subsections (A) and (B) is received and following an
appearance before the Board required under subsection (C), the Board shall provide notice
regarding whether the applicant may take the Arizona examination required under R4-33-401(3).
Because of the time required for the Board to perform an administrative completeness review
under R4-33-103, an applicant shall submit the information required under subsections (A) and
(B) at least 30 days before the applicant expects to take the Arizona examination.

(98]
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R4-33-404. Administration of Examination; Certificate Issuance

A.

B.

C.

The Board shall administer the Arizona examination at least twice each year at times and places
specified by the Board.

The Board shall provide written notice to an applicant regarding whether the applicant passed the
Arizona examination.

When an applicant passes the Arizona examination, the Board shall send the applicant a written
notice that the Board will issue a certificate to the applicant when the applicant submits to the
Board the fee required under R4-33-104(B)(4). If the applicant fails to submit the fee within six
months of the Board's notice, the Board shall administratively close the applicant's file. An
individual whose file is administratively closed may receive further consideration only by
submitting a new application under R4-33-401.

R4-33-405. Renewal Application

A.

The Board shall provide a certificate holder with notice of the need for certificate renewal. Failure
to receive notice of the need for certificate renewal does not excuse a certificate holder’s failure
to renew timely.

A manager certificate expires at midnight on June 30 of each odd-numbered year.

To renew a manager certificate, the certificate holder shall submit the following information to
the Board, on or before June 30, on a renewal application, which is available from the Board:

1. Current address;
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2. Current home and business telephone numbers;

3. Whether within the last 24 months the certificate holder was convicted of or pled guilty or no
contest to a criminal offense, other than a minor traffic violation, in any court and if so, attach
a copy of the original arrest record and final court judgment;

4. Whether within the last 24 months the certificate holder was denied a professional license or
had a professional license revoked, suspended, placed on probation, limited, or restricted in
any way by a state or federal regulatory authority and if so, the kind of license, license
number, issuing authority, nature of the regulatory action, and date;

5. An affirmation that the number of hours of continuing education required under R4-33-501
has been completed;

6. An affirmation that the certificate holder complies with the disclosure requirements under
R4-33-408; and

7. The certificate holder’s dated and notarized signature affirming that the information provided
is true and complete.

In addition to the renewal application required under subsection (C), a certificate holder shall

submit:

1. A photocopy of the front and back of the certificate holder's fingerprint clearance card;

2. Documentation described in A.R.S. § 41-1080(A) unless the documentation previously
submitted under R4-33-403(B)(10) established U.S. citizenship or was a non-expiring work
authorization issued by the federal government; and

3. The renewal fee required under R4-33-104.

An individual whose certificate expires because of failure to renew timely may apply for renewal

by complying with subsections (C) and (D) if:

1. The individual complies with subsections (C) and (D) on or before July 31;

2. The individual pays the late renewal fee prescribed under R4-33-104; and

3. The individual affirms that the individual has not acted as an assisted living facility manager
since the certificate expired.

An individual whose certificate expires because of failure to renew timely and who does not

comply with subsection (E) may obtain a manager certificate only by complying with R4-33-401.

R4-33-406. Inactive Status

A.

=
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The Board shall place a manager’s certificate on inactive status if the manager:

1. Isin good standing in Arizona,

2. Submits a written request to the Board to be placed on inactive status, and

3. Submits evidence that complies with R4-33-501(D) showing that the manager completed one
hour of continuing education for each month in the current biennial period before the request
to be placed on inactive status.

Within seven days after receiving a request to be placed on inactive status, the Board shall

provide the manager written confirmation of inactive status.

A manager whose certificate is on inactive status is not required to comply with R4-33-501.

An inactive certificate expires under R4-33-405 unless the manager timely submits a renewal

application and the fee required under R4-33-104(B)(7).

To resume active certificate status, a manager shall:

1. Submit evidence that complies with R4-33-501(D) showing that the manager completed 12
hours of continuing education within the six months before requesting to resume active
certificate status,

2. Submit a written request to the Board to resume active certificate status, and

3. Submit the fee required under R4-33-104(B)(4).

The Board shall grant a request to resume active certificate status if the requirements of

subsection (E) are met. Within seven days after receiving the written request to resume active

certificate status, the Board shall send written notice to the manager granting or denying active
status.

R4-33-407. Standards of Conduct; Disciplinary Action

A.

A manager shall know and comply with all federal and state laws applicable to the operation of
an assisted living facility.
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B. A manager shall not:

W=

11.

12.
13.
14.
15.
16.

17.

Engage in unprofessional conduct as defined at A.R.S. § 36-446;

Be addicted to or dependent on the use of narcotics or other drugs, including alcohol;
Directly or indirectly permit an owner, officer, or employee of an assisted living facility to
solicit, offer, or receive any premium, rebate, or other valuable consideration in connection
with furnishing goods or services to residents unless the resulting economic benefit is directly
passed to the residents;

Directly or indirectly permit an owner, officer, or employee of an assisted living facility to
solicit, offer, or receive any premium, rebate, or other valuable consideration for referring a
resident to another person or place unless the resulting economic benefit is directly passed to
the resident;

Willfully permit the unauthorized disclosure of information relating to a resident or a
resident’s records;

Discriminate against a resident or employee on the basis of race, sex, age, religion, disability,
or national origin;

Misrepresent the manager’s qualifications, education, or experience;

Aid or abet another person to misrepresent that person’s qualifications, education, or
experience;

Defend, support, or ignore unethical conduct of an employee, owner, or other manager;

. Engage in any conduct or practice contrary to recognized community standards or ethics of

an assisted living facility manager;

Engage in any conduct or practice that is or might constitute incompetence, gross negligence,
repeated negligence, or negligence that might constitute a danger to the health, welfare, or
safety of a resident or the public;

Procure or attempt to procure by fraud or misrepresentation a certificate or renewal of a
certificate as an assisted living facility manager;

Violate a formal order, condition of probation, or stipulation issued by the Board;

Commit an act of sexual abuse, misconduct, harassment, or exploitation; or

Retaliate against any person who reports in good faith to the Board alleged incompetence or
illegal or unethical conduct of any manager.

Allow the manager’s certificate to be displayed as required under R4-33-108(B) unless the
manager has been appointed as specified in R4-33-410; or

Manage an assisted living facility in violation of R4-33-411.

C. The Board shall consider a final judgment or conviction for a felony, an offense involving moral
turpitude, or direct or indirect elder abuse as grounds for disciplinary action under A.R.S. § 36-
446.07, including denial of a certificate or certificate renewal.

D. A manager who violates any provision of A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 4, Article 6 or this Chapter is
subject to discipline under A.R.S. § 36-446.07.

R4-33-408. Referral Requirements
A. A manager who is appointed by an assisted living facility that pays a fee to an individual or entity
for referral of a resident to the assisted living facility shall ensure that the assisted living facility:

1.
2.
3.

Has on file a contract with the individual or entity making the referral;

Maintains a file of the names of the residents referred by the individual or entity; and

Obtains at the time of admission and maintains a statement, signed by the resident or the

resident’s representative or legal guardian, which discloses that:

a. A fee was paid for referring the resident to the assisted living facility;

b. The resident or the resident’s representative or legal guardian was informed of the fee
arrangement; and

c. The resident or the resident’s representative or legal guardian was informed of any
ownership interest between the assisted living facility and the individual or entity making
the referral.

B. A manger shall maintain the records required under subsection (A)(1) for five years and shall
maintain the records required under subsections (A)(2) and (A)(3) for five years after the resident
ceases to reside in the assisted living facility.
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C. A manager shall make the records required under this Section available for review upon request
by the Board.

R4-33-409. Certification following Revocation
An individual who wishes to be certified after the individual’s certificate as an assisted living
facility manager is revoked shall:

1.
2.

Not apply for certification until at least 12 months have passed since the revocation; and
Apply for certification under R4-33-401.

R4-33-410. Notice of Appointment

A. A manager shall provide written notice to the Board, within 30 days, of being appointed manager
of an assisted living facility or terminating an appointment.

B. A manager shall include the following, as applicable, in a notice regarding the manager's

appointment:

1. Manager's name,

2. Manager's certificate number,

3. Name and address of the assisted living facility to which the manager is appointed,

4. Date of appointment,

5. Name and address of the assisted living facility at which the manager's appointment is

6.

terminated, and
Date of termination.

R4-33-411. Appointment as Manager of Multiple Assisted Living Facilities

A. An individual certified under R4-33-401 shall not be appointed to manage more than two assisted
living facilities at one time.

B. A individual certified under R4-33-401 who is appointed to manage two assisted living facilities

shall:

1. Ensure that the two assisted living facilities are no more than 25 miles apart;

2. Designate in writing one or more individuals who are on the assisted living facility premises
and accountable for the services provided at the assisted living facility when the appointed
certified manager is not on the assisted living facility premises. A designated individual shall:
a. Be atleast 21 years old;

b. Be a caregiver with at least three years’ experience as a caregiver or hold a temporary
certificate issued under R4-33-402; and
c. Never have had licensure or certification suspended or revoked by the Board;

3. Ensure that the name of the designated individual is conspicuously displayed at all times in a
manner that informs those seeking assistance who is accountable for the services provided;

4. Place the written notice of designation required under subsection (B)(2) in the personnel file
of the individual designated; and

5. Be available to the individual designated under subsection (B)(2) by telephone or

electronically within 60 minutes.

R4-33-412. Repealed

23



	How to Start a Manager Application.pdf
	manager apploication.pdf
	Pages from rules.pdf
	Character Certification (1) (1) (1) (1).pdf
	Citizenship form.pdf

	Arizona Statement of Citizenship

